Two Weeks with Mimi

For two weeks our family was blessed with the company of my mother. We cooked, we gardened, we moseyed around town, we played, we read, we slept and then gardened, cooked and played some more. There were many hours spent on the porch cracking pecans, swinging, talking and bird watching. My mom is too cool for Facebook and a smart phone (she has Instagram so she can see pictures of her children and grandchildren) so I thought I’d put together a little online scrapbook of her visit for her fan club back home in Mississippi. You know who you are! We are missing Mimi terribly. Two weeks was a long time to have her here, so long that I got too accustomed to her helpfulness! Luckily we went out of town for Easter, otherwise the house would have felt too quiet. This morning Grace woke up and unprovoked blurted out, “I want Mimi back!”  Enjoy a few highlights from an unforgettable two weeks! Thanks for reading.

IMG_5948

Art in Bloom at the North Carolina Museum of Art. People submit floral interpretations of various works of art on exhibit and it was so cool! We were both in heaven looking at all the creativity around nature and visual art.

IMG_5950IMG_5965

FullSizeRender (2)

Fish Friday meal for Lent. Seared salmon with a seriously good salad (recipe here.)

FullSizeRender[1]

Above and below: Fun at the JC Roulston Arboretum’s Blooms Festival. Spring was the perfect time for my mom (an expert horticulturalist) to visit. There were all sorts of events geared around nature, not to mention all the beautiful things in bloom around this time of year.

IMG_2688 (2)

IMG_2662 (2)

Bubbles! The Blooms Festival was part plant sale part kids outdoor fun. Grace and Charlotte loved playing in the bubbles and seeing all sorts of wildlife from bunnies to chickens to bugs!

IMG_6041

We hosted a champagne brunch/Easter egg hunt for Grace’s best buds and her parents. My mom made these little mini carrot cakes with died coconut and robin eggs on top, a big hit among both kids and adults. Below: Attempts to get a descent picture of Charlotte and Grace after the egg hunt which is becoming such a challenge!

IMG_6189 (3)

IMG_2847 (2)

Above: Breakfast cookies on the porch. Below: Our favorite Caesar Salad

IMG_6207

FullSizeRender[3]

IMG_6233IMG_6247

We did yard work, yard work and more yard work and no one minded one bit.

IMG_2838

IMG_2830 (2)

Plant and berry shopping at the NC State Farmers Market.

IMG_2992 (2)

Carb overload at Yellow Dog Bread which included a rosemary sea salt scone, a chai tea sugar cookie, a spinach and feta baguette and a huge strawberry and jam muffin!

IMG_2707 (2)

Neighborhood potluck prep with the littlest helper.

IMG_6254

IMG_6256

Impeccable shrimp creole on her last night before heading home. Yes, it was super helpful having her here to do laundry, change diapers, etc. but what was more was just her company. My parenting is largely influenced by how she raised my sisters and I, and I’m realizing we have so much in common it’s frightening. Mimi-we love you, we’re grateful for you, we miss you and we hope July gets here soon so we can head your way! -Addie

6 thoughts on “Two Weeks with Mimi

  1. You really know how to make a girl cry ! It was such a joy to spend time with my girls and with Chris , to be immersed in their everyday life.. To witness what incredible parents Addie and Chris are- tremendous patience with the girls and so much love with just the right amount of discipline. Addie asked me what was my favorite part of the visit.. There were many incredible highlights: The day at the arboretum, the Art Museum, Farmer’s Market shopping, neighborhood potluck , etc. I even got to visit with an old college friend who lives in NC now. And there was the night Chris and I watched Mississippi State ‘s victory over U Conn.
    But just being there with the girls for all of it- waking up to those sweet faces and having all day to spend doing whatever was on the agenda.- that was a constant highlight .
    God blessed me with three wonderful and amazing daughters. I sometimes feel like they raised me more than I raised them.
    Thank you Addie for this sweet post,. Thanks to you and Chris for always welcoming me into your home, your neighbors who are so friendly and my two granddaughters who had me from day one !
    Love you all and can’t wait for another visit !

    1. Counting down until July mom! Love you so much and your comment made me so happy. P.S. I totally forgot about the MSU U Conn victory-that should have totally been included ha!

  2. It was so great to see everyone….my friend Melissa and Addie’s family. You always welcome me and make me feel so comfortable. Thank you for letting me be a part of all the fun, food and laughter. Hope to see everyone soon! Hugs to Gracie and Charlotte and to y’all too of course……..

    1. Bootsi (sorry if I spelled that wrong!) I always love that we get to see you when my mom comes in town. Thank you so much again for the beautiful Easter Lilly and I so enjoyed meeting your husband. Please let’s get together again one of these days! Love, Addie

  3. Addie, you have such a way with words, you make me smile, bring a tear to my eyes, and tug my heart. I have known you almost from day one . I am almost as proud of you as your mom is. To see how you and your sisters have grown into these amazing women I am so proud of all of you. I am going to make it up to see you one day, hopefullysoon.

    1. Elaine now you are bringing tears to my eyes! I’ve said this before but I have always considered you another mother to me and I am so grateful for you as a family member and best friend to my mom. Love you so much and yes please come see us soon! When I first heard Pops Picnic and the Adams reunion were the same weekend I selfishly became so bummed that you wouldn’t be in the Bay! Big hugs-Addie

Leave a Reply

