Sweet Potato & Satsuma Hummus

Long time no talk everyone!

My reasons for the long absence include currently not having a computer during the day, company, travel and an incredibly busy 13 month old! Our fall has been busy with apple everything, complaining about the mass amounts of cold rain we’ve had, birthdays, camping, a week home in Mississippi and more. HOWEVER, I finally have forced myself to sit down and share a recipe our little family has been enjoying regularly since my mother was in town in October. While in town my mother tried to encourage me to “simplify” my cooking. I personally don’t think I need to simplify my cooking…to eat is to live! I just need to find a way to cook at the speed of light and dirty zero dishes along the way. So perhaps I do need to simplify for everyone’s sanity.

One thing my mom wanted me to actually add to my cooking repertoire was hummus. She wouldn’t hush about it! Hummus has been one of those things I am completely content not making. I’ve tried countless times, tricks, recipes, all unsatisfactory in my opinion. I always prefer the store bought consistency and flavor even if it does eat into our bank account. My favorite is a pretty pricey brand made here in NC. My mother being the stubborn (but so loved!) woman that she is, kept persisting and with good intentions. While shopping at Penzeys one day (a spice shop she doesn’t have in Mississippi) she returned with a sweet potato hummus recipe card she wanted me to make. I followed the recipe almost to the T and I’ll be darned I actually liked it. Grace, Chris and friends did as well. I’ve since modified the recipe which you’ll find below. I wonder if this would even be considered hummus since there are so many fixins’ I’ve added.

Unfortunately you can’t get the beloved satsuma here in North Carolina (not locally anyway), but being my mother’s daughter we traveled home from Thanksgiving with a few we were gifted while in Mississippi. It’s a small, citrus fruit that is more sweet and floral than tangy and sour and can be easily peeled with just your fingertips. As a child I would eat 3 at a time, sometimes more. The few times I’ve had them this year it’s been while fighting over them with my 13 month old who apparently loves them as much as I do. Here’s the recipe and speaking of citrus fruits, I included a few pictures of Grace trying her first orange during her birthday week. Priceless!

Sweet Potato Satsuma Hummus

Makes 1 creamy, nutty, sweet batch (ingredient amounts are approximate!) 

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chick peas, drained reserving some liquid
  • 1/2 large sweet potato, roasted
  • 1 clove roasted garlic
  • Scant spoonful of tahini
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • Handful pecan meal
  • Juice of 2 satsumas or for a sweeter hummus a generous spoonful of orange juice
  • Salt to taste

Method:

Blend all in a food processor until smooth adding reserved liquid from the chickpeas to reach desired consistency. Refrigerate for an hour before serving and season to taste with salt, coriander and citrus juice of choice. Serve with apple slices, or toasted pita. Enjoy!

IMG_1524 (2)

 

Follow me on:

twitter

pinterest

Leave a Reply

