Raleigh Food and Wine Fest Snapshots

Two Sundays ago, my friend Sarah and I attended the last leg of the Raleigh Food and Wine Festival, a four day Raleigh food celebration. I was having too much fun to stop and document as much as I would have liked to. However, I managed to snap a few pictures with my phone because I just had to share what was a feast of the senses.

The weather and the incredible venue really culminated the event. Even though it was in the middle of the day in June, in North Carolina, the weather felt more like spring. The festival was held at Babylon, a Moroccan restaurant and event venue, located at the edge of Raleigh’s downtown Glenwood South district.

Babylon is romantic and peaceful. A huge terrace and courtyard filled with lush plant life, beautiful brick and mosaic walls make up the outside. The atmosphere made me feel like I was  in the Mediterranean. Check out some of the days highlights below.

Open-faced pimento cheese sandwiches with bacon and peach preserves from Capital Club 16 was the first dish of the day and one I had to have seconds of.

Night Kitchen presented various gourmet carbohydrate concoctions including olive bread and an apricot tart. All tasty!

Mandolin, one of the best restaurants in Raleigh, served my favorite and likely most interesting dish there. Pictured above, a velvety, fragrant, floral pea soup with mint & chamomile.

Tuna, cucumber deliciousness.

A fried plantain bowl filled with pork, mango and other goodness from Latin Quarters.
Crisp Greek wine from Flying Olive Farms.

My favorite part was eating seconds in the courtyard under the sun. Pictured above, Escazu chocolate, more Pimento Cheese Crostini and dessert from Luccette Grace. Chris and I have a handful of restaurants we frequent. After eating my way through the Raleigh Food and Wine Fest, I left with so many new places to add to our que. I hope this event turns into an annual one. If it does, keep your eye out for next year!

P.S. Thank you Chris for watching our little bit while I had some social time and thank you Sarah for inviting me!

 

Leave a Reply

