Archive: Christmas in Mississippi

Bonjour friends & family!

Apologies for the long absence we’ve had from this little blog of ours. It’s been a busy few months. Andl honestly, even though we’ve had many little trips, meals etc that would have made for good content on here, I’m not organized enough to remember to take photos, & then write about them. Late New Years resolution perhaps? I thought I’d share some photos from our delightful Christmas back home in Mississippi. It’s a struggle to look at these & not get home-sick. Thankful for this blog & whomever is reading this to allow me to re-visit our low country Christmas memories. There is nothing like the food, the warm salty air & the slow and hospitable pace of life. But mostly, it’s the people that have my heart. I’ll keep this short. Below are a few highlights from our Christmas holiday. Apologies for some of the poor quality photos. Most of these are from my phone or very outdated camera.

 

IMG_0552

Celebrating our nieces first birthday.

IMG_0565

IMG_0570

Annual oysters at my dads house. Roasted in burlap over a roaring fire. Yes that is a solo cup wine glass.

IMG_0574

And more oysters. Wouldn’t be a Christmas down South without mass amounts of them.

IMG_0589

IMG_0590

Enjoying my moms delicious, rich, spicy, crawfish, corn and andouille soup.

IMG_0593 IMG_0597

After dropping off my older sister (who spent her Christmas in MINNESOTA!) at the airport, spending an early morning along the Mississippi River in New Orleans.

IMG_0600

IMG_0598

One of my favorite views.

IMG_0603

IMG_0606

Piping hot beignets covered in powdered sugar with a cafe au lait from Cafe Du Monde.

IMG_0631

My mother & her new shed door thanks to Chris and his dad! Isn’t she cute?

IMG_0632

Live oak sculpture along Beach Boulevard in my home town.

IMG_0636

IMG_0637

Big-D & my man enjoying a po-boy. In case you wanted a close up, that’s a fried a soft-shell crab one!

IMG_0651Hanging out in rural Poplarville Mississippi at my uncle’s farm.

IMG_6186

Getting extra snuggles from my first k-9 love, the one and only Moose.

IMG_6190 Our town finally got a grocery store! Well, technically it’s the next town over but it will suffice. It’s not just any grocery store. It’s completely authentic. We stocked up on Cajun potato chips, venison sausage, bbq sauce and more

IMG_6188

My mom’s Christmas tree, isn’t it fun?

IMG_6233

View from my dads house. You could spend days on his front porch.

While we were home for a week, it went by so quickly and I’m sitting here racking by brain going “Did I not get any photos from Christmas day? Did I not take any at Christopher’s grandparents house?” Maybe I’ll do better next year. Until then, i’ve made a little resolution to be better about posting to this thing. Thanks to everyone who took such good care of us while we were home! Until next time!
Leave a Reply

